Shadow of the Tomb Raider: The Nightmare DLC

Once again, it is going to be scary for Lara Croft in her origin story and adventures. After “The Forge” and “The Pillar“, the third DLC for Shadow of the Tomb Raider, “The Nightmare”, was announced yesterday and will be released on January 22nd, which is in less than a week.


In the DLC’s press release, “The Nightmare” is described as follows:

Journey through Lara’s past in The Nightmare, as she faces off against familiar enemies and fallen friends. In order to obtain a powerful and mysterious weapon, Lara Croft must face the music in a brand-new challenge tomb, battle foes who look like but are not like any she’s ever faced, and confront the deadliest enemy of all: herself.

Also, Lara will return to Croft Manor which can be explored “in a harrowing trial unlike anything Lara has experienced before.” Considering the above statements, may this mean that we could actually see some Tomb Raider 2013 or Rise of the Tomb Raider characters again (“as she faces off against familiar enemies and fallen friends“)?

There will also be a new gear pack called “Fear Incarnate” for Lara to equip and embrace her primal instincts. This includes “The Scales of Q” outfit, which boasts twice as much resistance to melee attacks, and a new climbing axe called “The Grip of Fear,” which is optimized for fighting and has an increased chance to knock enemies down and stay down longer.


“The Nightmare” will be available to Season Pass holders for free on Xbox, PS4 and Steam on January 22nd!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.